Jun 20, 2021  
Catalog/Bulletin 2019-2020 
Catalog/Bulletin 2019-2020 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Governing Boards


The Board of Supervisors Louisiana State University System

LOCATION: 104B University Administration Bldg.
3810 W. Lakeshore Drive
Baton Rouge, LA 70808
PHONE: (225) 578-2154
FAX: (225) 578-5524

The Board of Supervisors of Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College is established by Article 8, Section 7 of the Louisiana Constitution. It is a constitutionally empowered board granted the authority and responsibility to “supervise and manage the institutions, statewide agricultural programs, and other programs administered through its system.”

The constitution provides that the membership of the board is composed of two members from each congressional district and one member from the state at large, appointed by the governor with confirmation of the Senate.   Those members serve six-year terms, which are staggered. In addition, a student member is selected to serve a one-year term


Mr. Raymond J. Lasseigne, Bossier

Past Chairman

Ms. Ann D. Duplessis, New Orleans

Board Members

Mr. Ronald R. Anderson, Baton Rouge
Mr. Lee Mallett, Iowa
Mr. J. Stephen Perry, New Orleans
Mr. Scott Ballard, Covington
Mr. Stanley J. Jacobs, New Orleans
Ms. Ann D. Duplessis, New Orleans
Mr. James M. Williams, Metairie
Mr. Scott Angelle, Breaux Bridge
Mr. Glenn J. Armentor, Lafayette
Mr. Raymond J. Lasseigne, Bossier
Mr. Jim McCrery, Shreveport
Mr. R. Blake Chatelain, Alexandria
Mr. James W. Moore, Jr., Monroe
Mr. Rolfe McCollister, Jr., Baton Rouge
Mr. Robert “Bobby” Yarborough, Baton Rouge
Mr. Zachary Faircloth (student LSU)

The Board of Regents for Higher Education for the State of Louisiana

LOCATION: 1201 North Third Street, Suite 6200
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
PHONE: (225) 342-4253
FAX: (225) 342-9318

The Board of Regents for Higher Education of the State of Louisiana was created by the Constitution of 1974 with 15 members on the Board, as prescribed in the Constitution. A student member was added by constitutional amendment in 1980. Fifteen of the members are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate for overlapping terms of six years, and the student member serves a one-year term beginning June 1 of each year after being selected from the Council of Student Body Presidents-Elect of the colleges and universities under the jurisdiction of the Board. The Board of Regents has the power to revise or eliminate existing programs, departments and divisions; to study and/or recommend the creation of a new higher-education institution or management board; to formulate and revise a master plan for higher education; to recommend budgets for all institutions of higher education to the Governor and the Legislature; and to perform all other duties as prescribed by law. (Constitution of 1974, Article VIII, Section 5; Act 313 of the Louisiana Legislature, 1975 Regular Session)


Richard A. Lipsey, Baton Rouge

Vice Chairman

Edward D. Markle, New Orleans


Joseph P. Farr, Monroe

Board Members

Claudia H. Adley, Benton
Raymond J. Brandt, Metairie
Marty J. Chabert, Chavin
Joel E. Dupré, New Orleans
William “Bill” Fenstermaker, Lafayette
Chris D. Gorman, Shreveport
Thomas G. Henning, Lake Charles
Robert W. Levy, Dubach
Roy O. Martin III, Alexandria
W. Gray Stream, Lake Charles
Collis B. Temple III, Baton Rouge
Joseph C.  Wiley, Baton Rouge
Parker J. Harrington, Benton (student)

Commissioner of Higher Education

Dr. Joseph C. Rallo