Oct 02, 2022  
Catalog/Bulletin 2022-2023 
Catalog/Bulletin 2022-2023

Department of Family Medicine

Emilio A Russo, MD FAAFP
Marie Lahasky Professor of Family Medicine 

Associate Professor and Chair
Program Director, Rural Family Medicine Bogalusa
LSU Health Department of Family Medicine

The Department of Family Medicine is responsible for teaching in the discipline of Family Medicine and provides clinical and academic training that emphasizes the principles of primary care on which the discipline is based. Emphasis is based on clinical activity and hands-on learning experiences. At the predoctoral level, the department conducts a third-year clerkship, a required fourth-year ambulatory-care experience, a required acting internship, and a variety of electives. Department faculty also direct and/or teach in interdisciplinary courses in the Science and Practice of Medicine, anatomy, pharmacology, the Health Promotion Elective, and the AHEC summer preceptorship.

The Department has four Family Medicine Residency Programs, located in Bogalusa, Kenner, Lafayette, and Lake Charles, as well as an accredited Fellowship training program in Geriatric Medicine in Lafayette.